The Author Wes Moore

Prompt 1: Which character in the book is your favorite, and why? Do you like characters who are sympathetic, or funny, or irreverent, or daring, or what?

My favorite character in this book is the author Wes Moore. There are many reasons for this, but the main one is that I feel like I can relate with him. While our lives are wildly different, they are also alike in a few ways. For example, I was unhappy with my education last year, so I took matters into my own hands and applied to a boarding school across the country. Look where I am now. This relates to Wes being sent to military school because his mother was worried about him getting involved in violent gangs or being in danger in Baltimore. Although Wes didn’t have a choice to go to military school, he still moved away from home to go to a better place. I admire him and his mother because they both wanted a change in scenery and they worked really hard to get it. Like I said before, my past has been nowhere near as scary or as difficult as Wes’s, but I believe that it’s not about the destination as much as it is about the journey and our journeys are different but similar as well. My favorite type of character is one with passion, drive, and an interesting story to tell.

Leave a comment